Featured Artist of the month – Dirty Hand

Flint and Steel Horns

Dirty

 

Every newsletter has a featured artist of the month. We are posting the  artists on this blog for future access. (Our website will not hold all the previous artists)
One of the established horn artists on the west coast is none other than Dirty Hand. I am proud to call this fellow friend. Here is what he has to say about things.

I started seriously doing horn work about 10 or 11 years ago. I do the horns so that I can scrimshaw on them and am surely not one of the best horn smiths around. I found out that I enjoy making miscellaneous horn containers more than I do just making powder horns, and that these items sell more quickly than do powder horns.

Rum Horn

Rum horns and a side by side salt and pepper container are something I really enjoy making. I learned only recently, how to flatten horns and these work particularly well for salt and peppers and for spice horns as well. Another item I specialize in is flint and steel horns
using the example of one pictured in Madison Grant’s book on powder horns. I try to use only historically correct subjects but I sometimes “dress them up” from an artistic standpoint.

If you want to contact Dirty Hand, his email is drtyhnd1@sbcglobal.net

Spice Horn

Belt Horn

 

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

