18th CENTURY CAMPAIGN HORN by Scott and Cathy Sibley

The Contemporary Long Rifle Association is offering this 18th century campaign horn for their auction to be held in August 17th and 18th 2012 in Lexington KY.

Scott and Cathy Sibley Horn

The cow horn was graciously donated by Powder Horns and More of Morro Bay CA. Turning it into a work of art was done by Scott and Cathy Sibley.

Powder Horns and More was asked to donate a cow horn that would worthy of the project Scott had in mind.  Scott Sibley wanted this horn to be a plain but elegant horn reminiscent to the majority of the 18th century campaign horns.

Cathy's start on the scrimshaw

Scott Sibley writes, “I let the horn dictate to me as I was shaping the tip. One shape led to another, I wanted it to be authentic, so I had to keep it fairly simple.  As I was shaping it, my mind was racing with some ideas for the decoration to be applied by Cathy.

“Some time ago I had set a goal to make a horn for every Sibley that had fought in the War of Independence.  I am sad to say, I have fallen very short of this goal as according to the National Archives, there were close to 100 Sibleys that served.

Nathan Perry his horn Rush NY 1813

“The man on this horn is not a Sibley but rather the grandfather of my Great Grandfather.  I used his service records, his request for a “soldiers pension: dated June 12, 1819, his wife’s request for his “soldier pension” after his death, dated July 10, 1850 and family tales to design this horn.  It was aged a bit to add to the feeling of authenticity.

“Cathy and I have been seriously making powder horns since 1976. We were inspired

CLA Auction Horn August 18 2012

by America’s Bicentennial.  My addition has been inspired more and more as I became aware of my family’s involvement in the founding of this country.   Even though our horns are replicas, I feel they are helping to preserve American history.  Many times they commemorate soldiers who gave so this country could grow and prosper.

“Cathy and I feel honored that so many people have thought our horns were worth collecting over the past years.  We hope to be going strong for a few more years.

View of the inside of the horn

Cathy and Scott Sibley, Linda and John Shorb are proud to offer this powder horn to the Contemporary Longrifle Association. It will be auctioned off at the Annual Show August 18, 2012 in Lexington Kentucky.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

